Blue Mountains City Council



Local Government Elections
Under the Local Government Act 1993 NSW, council elections are held on the second Saturday in September every 4 years. The last election for the Council of the Blue Mountains Local Government Area was held on Saturday 10 September 2016. By-elections are conducted periodically when a councillor vacancy occurs. Councils can conduct their own elections or elections can be conducted by the NSW Electoral Commission.

Election results
You can view the 2016 Local Government election results.

Councillors are elected for 4 years.

Although the number of councillors to be elected varies from council to council, each council is made up of between 5 and 15 councillors (one of whom is the Mayor).

Voters rank candidates in order of preference, and where there are 2 or more positions to be filled, a candidate needs to achieve a quota of the votes to be elected.

As a general rule the councillors elect one of their number to be the Mayor. A Mayor elected by the other councillors serves a 2 year term.

After each Local Government election, the Division of Local Government surveys all councils. A report on the findings provides information about the representation of the community on local councils. As well as describing the characteristics of councillors and candidates such as gender, age and experience, the report identifies trends over time.

Thinking about becoming a councillor? - Click Here