Local Environmental Plans identify what natural areas should be protected, where shops, industrial estates and public spaces should be located and sets standards and criteria for how all new developments are assessed.
Development Control Plans (DCPs) then detail and give guidance on all the relevant issues, design principles and standards for the full range of development types.