New Councillors sworn in following Local Government Election

24 Dec 2021

The newly elected Councillors of Blue Mountains City Council took an Oath (or Affirmation) of Office last night (23 December 2021), following the 2021 Local Government Election.

Councillor Mark Greenhill was elected Mayor for a third term, at the Extraordinary Council Meeting that was held online due to COVID-19.

Councillor Romola Hollywood was elected Deputy Mayor, and Councillors Brendan Christie and Sarah Redshaw were elected Alternate Deputy Mayor (also to use the title Deputy Mayor).

Five new Councillors join the Council – Claire West, Susie van Opdorp, Nyree Fisher, Roza Sage and Sarah Redshaw. Councillors Brent Hoare, Mick Fell, Daniel Myles and Kevin Schreiber have also returned to serve another term.

Mayor, Cr Mark Greenhill OAM, said: “It’s an enormous honour to be elected Mayor. This term will take me to a record 10 year term as Mayor for this City, which is also an honour.

“Congratulations to each and every Councillor who has been elected. But we all know it’s not about us, it’s about the community who elected us.”

Mayor Greenhill said the Council would continue to protect the environment, to ensure the preservation of our World Heritage Area, and keep overdevelopment out of the Blue Mountains.

It would also look at how to create more income for the City, particularly from visitors.

“We run a complex City – 27 towns and villages spread across more than 100km of mountainous terrain.  We periodically are threatened by bushfires, and we are seeing the effects of climate change right now.

“The City also has a very narrow rate base.  We raise about $40 million in rates each year, but it costs us about three times that each year, to run the City.  We rely heavily on grants.

“We will create a taskforce in the New Year to help address the issue of revenue – to ensure we are able to deliver on promises we’ve made to the community in relation to infrastructure and waste.”

Blue Mountains City Council CEO Dr Rosemary Dillon congratulated the Councillors on their new term and the Mayor for his third term in the position, and 17 years and 8 months of service to the Council.

Contact details for the Corporate Communications & Marketing Program Leader: