2018 Local Australia Day Award recipients

2019 Local Australia Day Awards

12 Oct 2018

Do you know a local citizen who is inspirational?

Blue Mountains City Council is calling for nominations for outstanding local citizens, as part of the annual Australia Day Awards.

The Blue Mountains Local Australia Day Awards recognise and reward those citizens who have a consistent record of excellence, who have made outstanding achievements in their field and have contributed in a significant way to the Blue Mountains community.

Mayor, Cr Mark Greenhill, said: “I encourage the Blue Mountains community to nominate local residents who are an inspiration to the community and deserve recognition for their contribution and achievements throughout 2018.”

Nominations are sought for the:
•    Citizen of the Year (25 years+)
•    Young Citizen of the Year (24 years and under), and
•    Community Achievement of the Year.
“I have no doubt that we all know someone that represents our community at its best,” Cr Greenhill said. “Those residents who are role models for us all; who inspire us through their achievements or their selfless contribution to creating a better Blue Mountains.

“I urge you to nominate these local people, so they can be celebrated.”

The three awards will be bestowed at the annual Australia Day Awards presentation and Citizenship Ceremony, to be held at the Blue Mountains Theatre & Hub on 26 January 2019.

Previous recipients of the Blue Mountains Local Citizen of the Year Award have been recognised for their achievements in a broad range of fields, including education, emergency services, community development, safety, cultural events, welfare sports, and business.

The closing date for nominations is Sunday, 9 December 2018. 

Go to bluemountainshaveyoursay.com.au/citizenawards for more information and to access a nomination form.

Pic caption: Mayor Cr Mark Greenhill with (left to right) 2018 Young Citizen of the Year Andrew Gunn, 2018 Citizen of the Year Carmel Higgins, 2018 Community Achievement of the Year Springwood Foundation Day Committee representative Kim Cowper and Member for Blue Mountains Trish Doyle.

Contact details for the Corporate Communications & Marketing Program Leader:

Email: MediaUnit@bmcc.nsw.gov.au

Phone: 0414 195 533