Housing Diversity Code

On 1 July 2020, the state government Housing Diversity Code (previously named the Low Rise Medium Density Housing Code) came into effect in the Blue Mountains. Blue Mountains City Council has expressed strong opposition to the Code since its proposed introduction two years ago. Until now, the Blue Mountains local government area has been deferred from this Code. However, this deferral has expired and the Code now applies.

This state government Code allows for dual occupancy development and certain multi-unit housing types (manor houses and terraces up to two storeys) to be carried out under a fast track complying development approval, provided the development standards under the Code are met. These developments can be approved by building certifiers, without the requirement for submission of a development application to Council. It is understood that neighbouring properties would be notified that a complying development was proposed, however the state requirements do not allow for submissions to be made.

Understanding the maps

The maps included under 'Related Downloads' on this page are simplified to identify only the zones to which the Code would apply, being the R1, R2 and R3 zones. The maps also show land that is mapped as bush fire prone. More detailed mapping can be accessed via Council’s website, under the property map search.

It is important to confirm that there are areas within these zones that are excluded from the Code. This could be for a number of reasons including the size of the land, being a heritage item or located within a heritage conservation area, or a number of other conditions listed under the Code. All of these conditions cannot be mapped.

As this is not a local planning policy, the Council cannot interpret the Code or offer planning advice. To understand whether the Code applies to a particular parcel of land, it is essential to access the Code directly and seek professional planning advice.

Go to legislation.nsw.gov.au