An Alcohol Free Zone (AFZs) is a designated area in which the consumption of alcohol is prohibited seven days a week, twenty four hours a day.

AFZs assist in the prevention of disorderly behaviour caused by the consumption of alcohol in public places which can contribute to improving public safety. An AFZ can be located adjacent to outlets supplying alcohol where drinkers congregate. Other places where AFZs can apply are public roads, footpaths or public car parks. 

Land including private car parks, public parks and reserves cannot be included in an AFZ however, the consumption of alcohol in parks and reserves is currently prohibited in the Blue Mountains under Section 632 of the Local Government Act.

There are currently five (5) Alcohol Free Zones across the City which are in force until 20 December 2025:

Download the map for further information. 

Maps of these Alcohol Free Zones are available at the right hand side of this page.

For further information contact Council on 4780 5000.